Forgot password?
AIM Member University of Zambia

University of Zambia

School of Medicine - Department of Pharmacy

Nationalist Road
10101, Lusaka

The University of Zambia (UNZA) was established by Act of Parliament No. 66 of 1965. The first intake of students took place on 17th March 1966. The motto of the University, SERVICE AND EXCELLENCE has guided the development of the University since its inception.
UNZA is situated in Lusaka on two campuses. The main campus is the Great East Road Campus and it is situated on the Great East Road, 6km from the town center. The other campus is the Ridgeway Campus catering for the Schools of Medicine, Health Sciences, Nursing and Public Health. It is situated on John Mbita Road, 4km South East of Lusaka, opposite the University Teaching Hospital. The School of Health Sciences at the University of Zambia Ridgeway Campus is a leading centre of learning, teaching and research in Zambia. The school was established in 2017 after separating the Departments of Pharmacy, Physiotherapy and Biomedical Sciences from the School of Medicine at Ridgeway Campus. With the inclusion of entrepreneurship, leadership and management in our curricula, we provide students with a world-class learning experience focused on educating the whole person. Driven by motto of “service and excellence”, our students are challenged to engage in the world and become men and women in the service of others in the community.
The Department of Pharmacy at University of Zambia was established in 2001 and has been operating as a fully-fledged department initially under the School of Medicine and now under the new School of Health Sciences. The Department has been offering relevant pharmacy education programmes which include: the undergraduate Bachelor of Pharmacy (BPharm) degree programme, the postgraduate Master of Clinical Pharmacy (MClinPharm) degree programme and Master of Science by research programmes in Pharmaceutics, Pharmacy Practice, Pharmacognosy, Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Clinical Pharmacology and Nutrition, respectively, including Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in pharmacy-related research.